The Good Design Awards are celebrating their 60th Anniversary this year and invite you to be a part of it. The AFA are delighted to support the Good Design Awards which are officially calling for entries across 10 main design disciplines. For the fist time ever, the Good Design Awards will be presented at the iconic Sydney Opera House, making this the biggest and most celebrated design event in Australian history.

Danish architect Jan Utzon, son of Jørn Utzon who designed the Sydney Opera House will be among special guest presenters at the Awards Ceremony on 17 May.

The Good Design Awards are officially calling for Australian and international design projects across 10 main design disciplines with entry closing on 9 March 2018.

Previous winners of the Good Design Award of the Year include Australian designer Marc Newson for his Economy Class Seat for Qantas (2009); Hollywood Director, James Cameronfor the Deepsea Challenger Submarine (2012); the revolutionary Tesla Model S Sedan (2015) and Flow Hive, a game-changing beehive design that produces honey with the turn of a handle (2016).

We are also proud to announce our 2018 Jury comprising leading international design experts including the legendary Hartmut Esslinger, Founder of global design firm frog design and one of the early pioneers of industrial design at Apple.

If you have an innovative project that deserves recognition at the highest level, please let us know. We would love to see it celebrated at this special year of the Good Design Awards.

More information about our 60th Anniversary and the Good Design Awards can be found on our website:

The Good Design Awards accept entries from all over the world, categories include:

–        Architectural Design

–        Communication Design

–        Design Strategy

–        Digital Design

–        Engineering Design (New for 2018)

–        Fashion Design (New for 2018)

–        Product Design

–        Service Design

–        Social Impact

–        Next Gen (Student Design)